To you, my friends

With a tear and a sigh and a heavy heart,
I close my eyes and I look away,
This time when it’s time, for me to depart,
I’ll have for you, no words to say.

I’ll have no, “Miss You”, sweet and plain
I’ll have no, “We will meet again”;
I’ll have no songs, no works of art,
No laughs to offer on this mournful day.

But this mourning is a mirage, of my mind,
A fever I fathom but cannot find,
For this pain, is an exchange of the kind,
Where I take you with me, and leave myself behind.

~ Nihit Kaul

This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

